Plain. Honest. Simple.

Love to Love You Baby

Returned for more punishment tonight, though, believe it or not it wasn’t that bad. The Betties have their own, non-nugget, practice time on Thursday evening and I came by to skate around the outside edges and get some extra practice in. About five other rookie girls showed up. It’s funny how when you go through something grueling together it creates a special camaraderie. I totally admire these women out there daring to do what I’m daring to do. Who knows what’s propelling us each forward in this sadistic goal?

And I can’t say enough how amazing and encouraging the Betties coaches have been. I think I love them. Each and every one.

I skated faster tonight than I have since I was 17. I dream about skating every night. Sometimes I’m falling and getting hurt, other times I’m flying around the track. I feel sick about going to Saturday’s practice, but also sickly excited. I just hope my ass can take it.

2 responses

  1. Marti Frederick

    I love the cycle of things how moms, feeling mostly inadequate at every turn, teach their children every thing they can and hope for the best – quietly knowing all along that it’s just not enough. Then at some point (if we are lucky),we experience this wonderful, overwhelming, emotional relalization that our children have learned their lessons well and not only have taken what we have taught and added volumes to it, but turned it into something incredible – they become our teachers. Stacy you are my heroin. The challenges you conquer are truly amazing. You have taught me so much. I am so proud of the way you walk in the world and who you have turned out to be.

    November 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm

  2. Derby Husband #1

    I miss touching it. 😦

    November 13, 2010 at 2:26 am

Leave a Reply

