Plain. Honest. Simple.

Ritual de lo Habitual Hell Session – Boot Camp Day 2

Saw this TANKgear.net T-shirt posted on the Derby Girls Blog.

I’m starting to get to know some of my compadre nuggets a little bit. There’s not a lot of time for conversation, but much is told through the exchange of knowing smiles, looks of determination, demonstration of tenacity and how one manages pain. And through these small signs I can see a much greater and wider kinship than I expected would exist amongst us.

There are few things I’ve noticed setting these rookie girls apart from a lot of other girls I know. A few things that tell me we’ve got some bonding commonalities.

  • We all have something to prove. In each of us there is a demon getting beaten down.
  • As my new friend Simone stated, we all have a badass lurking inside. Some of us have let it be suppressed by bad relationships, motherhood, a tough economy or just the drone of daily life. Regardless of the reason, these girls all have an inner badass and it’s like a fire ready to be stoked.
  • We all have a high tolerance for pain.
  • We all secretly fantasize about wearing fishnets, slutty derby outfits and the ass we’re developing that will show these things off.

If those aren’t the ingredients for lifelong friendship, I don’t know what is.

………………..

I’m getting used to being in pain all the time and to swearing every time I get up, sit down, roll over or smile. But I do have a confession. The pain I have in my ass from falling on it 40 times in a row Tuesday night has put the fear of God in me.

A couple days ago I was sitting on my yoga ball, hoping to stretch out some very angry muscles. I was standing up and sitting down while talking to my son. Apparently the ball had rolled away after I had stood up a couple times. I went to sit down and had crouched to the point of knowingness that nothing was underneath to catch me.

My blood ran cold. So much so (and what I imagine looked cartoon-like), I propelled my body directly up and forward, grabbing precariously onto the eight-foot tall bookshelf next to me. Clinging to it with my fingers, I threw myself forward onto the ground. My ass hurts so much that I would much rather plow my face into the hardwood floor and be pummeled by a falling bookshelf than I would want to fall on my butt again.

I only have two and half days to be boot camp ready again. And those two and half days will have to also include doing chores in my skates every day for at least an hour, a half hour (or hopefully more) of core exercises every day (my thighs and center need some serious strengthening), a swimming workout and two mornings of skating along the beach.

We went over so many new skills yesterday, my head is spinning. In and out leg moves, single leg move curves, hip rotations, single leg skating, dreaded T-Stops and snow plow stops. And of course, we finished up with what I’m now calling The Wall of Violence – a crushing core workout led by Viva Violence. Passing the skills assessment and making the team seem like a far way off. Sigh.

3 responses

  1. Lol I can totally relate to the fear of falling on your butt. I think the 40 butt falls on Tuesday were supposed to help us become comfortable falling correctly, but my ass doesn’t agree. I think I skated a bit more cautiously yesterday than I should have because I didn’t want to fall on it anymore. I’m going to work on conquering that though.

    Great job yesterday!

    November 14, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    • stacylouise

      God, I know what you mean. It’s like being in a car wreck and then saying, “Hey! Let’s go do that again today!” It takes a certain amount of courage, lol.

      November 14, 2010 at 10:05 pm

  2. Derby Husband #1

    Babe, You Rock! It’s so nice to finally have the whole family on urethane. 🙂

    November 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

