Plain. Honest. Simple.

Making Friends with My Inner Badass

Artwork from The Road to Rollergirl blog at http://www.theroadtorollergirl.com.

 

Boot Camp tonight. The rink will be open early so I’m going to try and get some extra practice in. What we’ve learned so far:

  • Butt Falls
  • 1-Knee Falls
  • 2-Knee Falls
  • 1-Knee 180
  • Baseball Slide
  • Figure 4s
  • Sticky Feet
  • 1-Foot Glides
  • T Stops
  • Plow Stops
  • Weaving
  • Derby Step
  • Derby Hop
  • Leaping
  • Jumping
  • Cross Overs


I’ll be starting at the top and going over these skills one at a time until I get them right.

This won’t all happen tonight, obvi. But as I go forward, this is my list.  Last night I did a plyometric exercise for about an hour and a half. This morning I braved the 40-degrees outside and went down to Los Banos for a swim. It was actually a beautiful morning – crisp and sunny, though cold as shit. One thing about swimming when it’s cold out; Getting in the normally very cold water, not so bad – a 25-degree improvement.

Strength, strength, strength. The more I can build, the better off I’ll be.

I had a couple of good falls last Saturday during our beach skate adventure. The first fall was textbook but still yielded a large ass bruising. The second fall was out of control and sent my knee bending in an akward and painful way. I’ve been paying for it ever since. I’d much rather deal with a bruised ass, than a weak-feeling ligment in my knee that sends sharp pains when I bend it the wrong way. So tonight’s practice: a knee brace plus butt falls, 1-knee falls and 2-knee falls.

Derby is my physical metaphor. I’m 45 and have some demons to beat down. Bring it.

3 responses

  1. Semper Fatale

    Love this!

    “Derby is my physical metaphor. I’m 45 and have some demons to beat down. Bring it. “

    November 30, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    • stacylouise

      =) ❤

      November 30, 2010 at 4:23 pm

  2. Erin Frame

    In case you didn’t realize, YOU ARE a badass!!!

    November 30, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

