Plain. Honest. Simple.

These Hips Were Made for Checking & That’s Just What They’ll Do – Boot Camp Day 11

OMG! Tuesday night’s practice was magic. Not only did we get to practice whips and knocking girls on their ass, I had so much fun doing it that I wasn’t even focusing on the fact I was skating. I made it through nearly the entire practice without having to sit down. I missed the last 10 minutes (wall of Violence), but was entirely proud of getting through the one hour and fifty minutes that it didn’t matter.

This is a milestone in SO many ways that I cannot stop smiling. First of all, it means that all the strength training and repetition is paying off. I am getting strong. It means instead of skating around the outside doing my modified versions of the skills, I was in the pack! I don’t want to give any wrong impressions here. There were no Ellen Page moments where suddenly I went from not knowing how to skate to being a badass Jammer. However, I was “my own hero,” and badass enough for me. Especially since I had spent the entire day throwing up and in bed but I rallied and got myself to practice. 😀

Blocking and knocking down was so much fun that, as my girl PTS Dee says, “these hips were made for blocking.” How to describe the satisfaction of throwing a booty and shoulder into a girl and watch her fly off course? It’s waaaaaaaay better than bowling. Misfit and Hiss were awesome coaches and very patient with me. And the excitement of looking over my shoulder for another victim while hearing LOC yell, “Come on Stacy! Knock one down!” was awesome. I can see/feel how this is only the baby beginnings of an addiction, the tip of the iceberg.

My husband (Scott), son (Cousteau) and I met Storm and Dee down in Ventura at Skating Plus on Wednesday night. Dee and I showed Storm some of the whips and pushing exercises she missed Tuesday. Though, it was a much milder version (we were still sore from the night before). Cousteau even got in the mix and practiced whips with Dee.

Scott got on skates for the first time since he was eight and rocked it for his first time. When I first got back on skates, I clung to his arm for two weeks straight before I could even stand on my own. Not Scott, even though Frankensteining his way around, he was up and on his own cruising around the track for two hours. I give credit to his skateboarding for giving him a giant beginner’s bump. I’m thrilled that he wants to become a derby ref as well as start playing some hockey. We’re an all-urethane family now.

2 responses

  1. Simone

    Sweeeeet! Thanks for the mention ❤ It was awesome practicing whips with Cousteau. I'm also taking my family along for a skating obsession ride and hope to have time to blog about it soon. I'm so glad you had that experience of skating with the pack!

    December 17, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  2. my inspiration my hero 🙂

    December 17, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

