Plain. Honest. Simple.

Nugget Syndrome, The End of Boot Camp & The Beginning of Derby Life Phase II

The Starry Night by Vincent van Gogh.

 

I am proud of myself.

Eight weeks ago I started a journey I knew was way beyond my ability and because of that, it terrified me. I have never taken on a physical challenge like this and it was completely un-chartered territory.

I’m used to doing things I’m good at. This time, however, I put myself directly in the middle of my uncomfort zone, taking on something I knew, initially, I’d suck at. But there’s something about purposefully making yourself uneasy when you know something else greater waits for you on the other side. It builds character – and this time in a way I’ve never experienced. It created an internal sense of confidence which, step-by-step, made my world get bigger, better.

There were times I wanted out. I wanted to quit. I was anxious. I was fearful to the point of hating what I was doing and not knowing why I was continuing to do it. I felt like I didn’t belong and that I was in the wrong place, doing the wrong thing. I felt like crap about myself for not performing well. I was mean to myself. Many times, I fell into the dark abyss of comparing my lacking ability to the better performance of others. There were times I was nearly throwing up during practice. There were times I was throwing up hours before practice. But, despite my doubts and pain, I continued on. Made damn sure that Pilate washed his hands and sealed his fate.

Then I started to hear a common thread emerge. I was reading a score of other fresh meat blogs. I was talking with my own (better performing) nugget compadres. And this thing I was feeling, the shadow side of my experience, was being echoed across the ethers. At first it confounded me to hear it coming from the mouths of those I deeply admire. From those who were inches away from making their endurance requirement of 25 laps in five minutes. From those who had beautiful crossovers. From those who skated wobble-free from the very first night of boot camp.

And then, within the cacophony of this newborn requiem, I recognized it. What I’ve rightly named as Nugget Syndrome: Whereby one’s sense of self confidence and self-esteem is rocked to the core by a new-found obsession which finds itself flying above the rooftops on a towering pedestal. The vastness between reality and the obsession is so great that only a psychic tantrum such as Nugget Syndrome can provide the fuel necessary to propel one’s self forward with enough vigor to reach toward the sky. Maybe van Gogh’s ear wasn’t simply the end of the line, yet the rocket juice he needed to reach a higher plane.

Once I realized this affliction, and its commonness, I got over myself in a big way. On the heels of Viva Violence, our team captain, telling me to STFU after an engulfing whine, I dropped the Syndrome in exchange for getting closer to my destiny. Don’t get me wrong, it served me well, as I imagine it does many others after the starting gun fires. But with all relationships, there comes a time to part ways and move forward with strength. I’m glad I recognized my moment when I did instead of choosing to get stuck with a partnership that had shot its wad. We all know those are only castles burning.

I chose to celebrate my accomplishments and pay homage from where I came. It doesn’t matter how small or big they are in comparison to others. They are mine. And they have given me entrée to a sense of self-respect I have not known before. I leave these eight weeks behind and open my arms to the next phase of my derby life. I will continue working toward passing my assessments and becoming a full-fledged, bouting member of our team.

Touching the stars, or even grasping for them, isn’t easy business or for the faint of heart. It’s a job for crazies, Amazons, warriors and badasses – like me.

6 responses

  1. Damnit Venus, you’re bringing me to tears because your words are so true for me. I’ve been vacillating between Nugget Syndrome and Pride so often I’m feeling like a moody teenager here. I hope I can lean more towards the Pride side of things and edge away from the Nugget Syndrome, because this obsession isn’t letting go any time soon.

    January 3, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    • stacylouise

      I know, we’re clenched! Thanks for going through this with me & continuing to go through it with me. Our parrallel experience has given me so much inspiration and made me feel like I have someone who truly understands this strange road. xoxo! ❤

      January 3, 2011 at 11:17 pm

  2. Eleanor Elliott

    Hey Venus
    This is cool and inspiring.
    Keep up the hard work.
    Sincerely, Storm

    January 3, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    • stacylouise

      Thanks Storm!!! You’re the sweetest! xoxo ❤

      January 3, 2011 at 11:18 pm

  3. Chris

    I am proud of you, too! You inspire me.

    January 4, 2011 at 7:30 am

  4. Venus N. Vee

    February 18, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

